Alta Lodge is celebrating 75 years at the base of its eponymous ski resort this winter. The original, 12-room property first opened its doors on Nov. 29, 1940, when rides on the single-chair Collins lift were 25 cents and Alta was just a year old. To celebrate this milestone, the Levitt family, which has owned the lodge since 1959, is offering a night at the original 1940 room rate to anyone who books a four night stay at the lodge between the anniversary date and Dec. 13.
In addition to its 12 guest rooms, the original building consisted of a dining room and the Sitzmark Bar. When Bill Levitt bought the lodge, he embarked on an expansion that included 22 new guest rooms. Another addition in 1968 came with 24 more rooms. These two additional wings and the original building still make up the lodge, with a modern lobby and an expanded dining room and kitchen, as well.
Alta Lodge still operates in a traditional European ski vacation model, with breakfast and dinner included in the experience, a big social component and generations of repeat guests.
The lodge's two week celebration of the anniversary will include live music, a fireside chat with the Alta Historical Society, and a screening of "Margie of the Wasatch," an early 1940s promotional ski flick that was filmed at the lodge, among other events and activities.
· Alta Lodge [Official site]
· Alta's Snowboarding Ban Will Get Another Day in Court [Curbed Ski]
· Take a Peek at Historic Mammoth Mountain for Founder Dave McCoy's 100th [Curbed Ski]
· The Most Iconic Buildings in Ski Country, Mapped [Curbed Ski]