clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

How Portland's Airport Carpet Broke The Internet With 42,000 Foot Selfies

New, 13 comments

Portlanders are not letting their distinctive late-1980s airport carpet go gently into that good night. Ever since it was announced that thirteen acres of the beloved teal wall-to-wall carpet of the Portland International Airport would be torn up and replaced, denizens of the city have been honoring the postmodern rug designed by Jon Schleuning with even more fervor than usual. There are now 42,000 Instagrams tagged with #pdxcarpet and counting. On Friday, a rolled-up version of the rug, with googly eyes and a baseball cap, was named the "grand marshal" of a parade in Portland.
That same day, many Portlanders saw fliers for an unrelated PDX Carpet Fest. Local tattoo parlors have been doing brisk business, inking nostalgic Portlanders with the idiosyncratic geometric patterns of their favorite mascot. There are also poems, socks, shirts, and even Koozees dedicated to the carpet. Needless to say, the new design, by Zimmer Gunsul Frasca Architects, lacks the hard-to-define magic of the original.

"Someone in my feed uploaded a photo on the new carpet last night. They were flipping it off," says resident Chelsea Bauch, who thinks the fast-encroaching new carpet looks like something found in a Las Vegas casino. "Like everything in Portland, the cult of the PDX carpet is a healthy balance of sincerity and subtle irony. But the distinguishing factor is that everyone commits to this collective love of the carpet."

Below are many, many Instagram homages to the famous PDX carpet:

A photo posted by @beccamargaret on

A photo posted by William (@wkphotog) on

A photo posted by tara (@tbams) on

A photo posted by BP22183™ (@bp22183) on

A photo posted by Jami (@thenamesjami) on

A photo posted by Scott Smith (@sholdensmith) on

A photo posted by Kariebeth (@kariebethmawer) on

A photo posted by Jessie (@itsjesspdx) on

A photo posted by Emma P (@emmaglen24) on

A photo posted by Bea Herzberg (@beaherzberg) on

A photo posted by Abbæ (@abbymrhodes) on

A photo posted by Eliese Dorsay (@demonsauce) on

A photo posted by @smooov_e on

Aaaaand we're back. #pdxcarpet

A photo posted by Kristin (@krizzikinz) on

A photo posted by Woody (@durtygrrl) on

A photo posted by John Pastor (@johnpastor) on

A photo posted by lauren.santora (@flolorida) on

A photo posted by Brinn Hovde (@brinnhovde) on

A photo posted by May Choi (@may_choi11) on

A photo posted by Emily Bollinger (@emschwig) on

A photo posted by Ethan Brown (@eman030303) on

A photo posted by andre filipek (@andrecfilipek) on

A photo posted by Deanna Smith (@smithdea) on

A photo posted by Mikayla (@mikaylajo_12) on

A photo posted by Erin Briggs (@erinebriggs) on

Is this how you do it?

A photo posted by Braden Anderton (@braden_anderton) on

A photo posted by Samantha (@northwest_fashion) on

A photo posted by Alan Beard (@alanjbeard) on

A photo posted by @charles32265 on

A photo posted by Feferi Peixes (@olsonltaylor) on

A photo posted by Ryder Hoover (@sky_scr4per) on

A photo posted by Tyler Chin (@tyler__chin) on

A photo posted by Kristin Mathes (@floatypig) on

A photo posted by @angdifran on

A photo posted by Andrew Bui (@andrew.bui) on

A photo posted by @td2180 on

A photo posted by Lucas Meneghel (@1ucas) on

A photo posted by BEARDLANDIA (@beardlandia) on

A photo posted by Stephanie Sauter (@sonicsgrrl) on

A photo posted by Robin Farmer (@robinfarmer) on

A photo posted by Steph (@stephpnw_2) on

A photo posted by Ayah Samman (@ayah_samman7) on

A photo posted by Liz (@floatingkitchen) on

A photo posted by Devon (@shmevon) on

A photo posted by Travis Mason (@foodandink) on

A photo posted by Yone Mcnally (@yone.m) on

On the road again, Berlin bound. #pdxcarpet

A photo posted by Amy Sample Ward (@amyrsward) on

A photo posted by Sylvia (@not_plath) on

A photo posted by @enyapm on

A photo posted by Heather Marie Ryan (@atarigeek) on

A photo posted by Dray (@aesco77) on

A photo posted by @miss.kerri.baby on

A photo posted by Melanie Moteberg (@mnmoteberg) on

A photo posted by Linda Guilen (@elleguilen) on

A photo posted by @nettekins on

A photo posted by @nettekins on

A photo posted by Lisa Kemp (@p2niak) on

A photo posted by @ade.tlr.mclstr on

A photo posted by @kkkkkkkkkkkkaren on

A photo posted by @oliviagolemon on

A photo posted by amosjean (@amosjean) on

A photo posted by Hannah (@17andahalf) on

A photo posted by Amber Evans (@amber_evans_) on

A photo posted by Marcus ✌ (@superdub) on

A photo posted by Kristin Johnson (@kristinj32) on

A photo posted by Juan Manuel (@jrjuanms) on

A photo posted by @rasta_gram on

The rumors of your demise have been greatly exaggerated old friend.

A photo posted by Mike Jett (@mikejett) on

A photo posted by @drapeskc on

A photo posted by Shea (@somecomicgeek) on

A photo posted by Ovation (@ovationtv) on

· Portland Mourns the Loss of Venerable Late-'80s Airport Carpet [Curbed National]
· PDX Carpet [99% Invisible]