clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Park Service Adds 5 New Landmarks Including Wright Home

Yesterday, the National Park Service added five new national historic landmarks, bestowing this status on a range of classic and modern buildings as part of a program first established in 1935. Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell and National Park Service Director Jonathan B. Jarvis gave the designation to the following buildings: Frank Lloyd Wright's Samara, also known as the John E. and Catherine E. Christian House, in West Lafayette, Indiana; the Lake Hotel at Yellowstone National Park in Teton County, Wyoming; the California Powder Works Bridge in Santa Cruz County, California; Minoru Yamasaki's McGregor Memorial Conference Center in Detroit, Michigan; and the Brookline Reservoir of the Cochituate Aqueduct in Brookline, Massachusetts.
"These sites join more than 2,500 other landmarks that help tell America's story," said Secretary Jewell in a statement. "From the remarkable strides made in engineering during the 19th century to the vision of our great architects, they are an important part of the tapestry of our nation's heritage."

It's been a good year for Wright preservation; 10 of his buildings were recently submitted for the UNESCO World Heritage List, and could be added as soon as next year.

·Previous Preservation Watch coverage [Curbed]