clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bask In The Glory of 117 Instagrams of The #NewWhitney

New, 1 comment

A photo posted by Audra Rhodes (@audrarhodes) on


After securing a pre-scheduled ticket, paying the $22 admission fee, and making the substantial trek to 99 Gansevoort, the public finally made its way into the brand new Whitney Museum of American Art on May 1st, 2015. Nestled between the Hudson River and the High Line, the new Whitney is an impressive $422M bauble in Manhattan's Meatpacking District. Like an heiress to Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney's fortune, #NewWhitney has opened with all the pomp and circumstance of a well-heeled debutante ball—In just one week, actress Chloë Sevigny and musician Le1f made appearances, First Lady Michelle Obama cut a ceremonial ribbon, and fashion brand Max Mara custom-designed a luxury handbag for the occasion.

But how did the common people celebrate the new building? The clear answer is: They took a photo of it. So far, the Whitney has been greeted by 6,205 Instagrams, 1,605 likes on Facebook, and an untold number of tweets. It's the most social museum ever and we have the proof.

1.

A photo posted by Audra Rhodes (@audrarhodes) on



2.


3.


4.


5.

On to the next NYC landmark! In celebration of #NewWhitney, we rang the closing bell at the New York Stock Exchange. #NYSEBell

A photo posted by Whitney Museum of American Art (@whitneymuseum) on



6.


7.


8.

Had a colorful night @whitneymuseum @jacobsmichaelj Jasper John "Three s" #NewWhitney

A photo posted by @bybritt on



9.


10.

Art x bathroom #newwhitney

A photo posted by Rafael (@rafferty3) on



11.


12.

NOW OPEN @whitneymuseum #newwhitney

A photo posted by Martha Scott Burton (@marthascottburton) on



13.

We're opening!!!! Welcome! @whitneymuseum #newwhitney

A photo posted by Hannah swihart (@hswihart) on



14.

Keith Sonnier at the new Whitney "Ba-O-Ba, Number 3", 1969

A photo posted by Ricardo Ortiz Kugelmas (@rica_ok) on



15.


16.

A photo posted by Rick Moss (@ricksmoss) on



17.

A photo posted by Rick Moss (@ricksmoss) on



18.


19.

A photo posted by Joyce Yoo (@joyceyoo) on



20.


21.


22.


23.

. sunny afternoon at new Whitney .

A photo posted by @suealexleo on



24.

A photo posted by @fernandanaman on



25.


26.

A photo posted by Jayshree Mahtani (@mahtanij) on



27.

A photo posted by Myrtle (@epad15) on



28.

A photo posted by Paul King (@paulkingart) on



29.

A photo posted by Tully Hedley (@tullyhedley) on



30.

A photo posted by Wayne Sun (@waynesun) on



31.


32.


33.


34.

New neighbor in our hood (and my former employer) @whitneymuseum #newwhitney #highline #NYC

A photo posted by @tiffanywebber on



35.

A photo posted by Katie Mitchell (@omnivorism) on



36.

#newwhitney #whitneymuseum #roof #meatpacking #blackandwhite #bw #shadows #architecture #nyc #newyork

A photo posted by Jeffrey Blum (@jeffreyb76) on



37.


38.

A photo posted by Tully Hedley (@tullyhedley) on



39.

A photo posted by @d_f_ on



40.

A photo posted by @arashfewzee on



41.

A photo posted by Munira × Munny (@munnygrip) on



42.

A photo posted by Jenna (@j_leigh_leigh) on



43.

A photo posted by Spring (@spring) on



44.

A photo posted by Jen Patterson (@jenpatt17) on



45.

A photo posted by Jen Patterson (@jenpatt17) on



46.

David Smith "Hudson River Landscape" 1951

A photo posted by Joelle Maslaton Oster (@joellestagram) on



47.

A photo posted by Laura Belgray (@lbelgray) on



48.


49.


50.


51.


52.

A photo posted by stocktonhall (@stocktonhall) on



53.


54.


55.

A photo posted by @ovrg on



56.


57.

#Newwhitney #rpbw

A photo posted by Colin Stief (@callinsteef) on



58.

#newwhitney

A photo posted by Kristin Smallwood (@therealboobs420) on



59.

A photo posted by Zack Joslow (@zackjoslow) on



60.

After eight nights of parties, it's opening weekend at the #newwhitney. @whitneymusuem #inauguraldinner #elevatorbar #vanwyckelves

A photo posted by Van Wyck & Van Wyck (@vanwyckvanwyck) on



61.

A photo posted by @laurenespeseth on



62.


63.

A photo posted by Dragana Zoric (@dzoric) on



64.

Block Party @whitneymuseum #newwhitney #whitneymuseum #nyc #blockparty

A photo posted by npz style + decor (@npz_style) on



65.

A photo posted by @arxitectura on



66.


67.

A photo posted by artcited (@artcited) on



68.

New Whitney, New Hair (Old #jacksonpollock)

A photo posted by Stephanie Maida (@luxerubbish) on



69.

A photo posted by Emily's New York (@emilysny) on



70.

A photo posted by Gary Toriello (@racerxnyc) on



71.

@WhitneyMuseum #NewWhitney @UntitledNYC @DHMeyer

A photo posted by Gary Toriello (@racerxnyc) on



72.

TV Tower #Whitney #newwhitney

A photo posted by Kiowa Hammons (@kiowax) on



73.

A photo posted by Visnja Krzic (@visciolata) on



74.

A photo posted by Mari Oshima (@mari_oshima) on



75.

A photo posted by NaY (@seize9eme) on



76.


77.


78.

A photo posted by Esmeralda (@smaraki_k) on



79.


80.


81.

A photo posted by Bri Lowndes (@bri_lowndes) on



82.

A photo posted by Bri Lowndes (@bri_lowndes) on



83.

A photo posted by @carmenchan on



84.


85.


86.

woke up with the early birds this morning to check out the new Whitney, and boy is it a beaut. | #newwhitney

A photo posted by Kristen Cesiro (@kristencesiro) on



87.

A photo posted by ADKTIVKKS (@addictivekicks_) on



88.


89.

A photo posted by Meg Wagner (@megwagner4719) on



90.

A photo posted by @freshpaintnyc on



91.


92.


93.

A photo posted by Jeffrey Blum (@jeffreyb76) on



94.

A photo posted by Henri Bendel (@henribendel) on



95.

THE place to be! GO! @whitneymuseum #newwhitney #ehitneyblockparty

A photo posted by Beth Corso (@ridge3213) on



96.

A photo posted by @deane_madsen on



97.


98.


90.

A photo posted by ARDECO (@ardecogallery) on



91.


92.

A photo posted by ARDECO (@ardecogallery) on



93.

A photo posted by @lauradeosuna on



94.


95.


96.

We are making maps with #LizeMogel !! Come help us build New York @whitneymuseum #BlockParty #NewWhitney

A photo posted by @sarah_humphreville on



97.


98.


99.

A photo posted by carina finn (@carinafinn) on



100.


101.

A photo posted by Steph Kim (@stephyojungkim) on



102.


103.


104.

Happy to be here #newwhitney

A photo posted by @kaikaichow on



105.

#BLOOOOMS on 8th

A photo posted by Michael Traynor (@mjtraynor) on



106.

Minutes away from being first patrons of the new Whitney.

A photo posted by Ryan Luikens (@ryanluikens) on



107.

#NewWhitney #blockparty @trishabag

A photo posted by @christopherylew on



108.

A photo posted by Solange (@saintrecords) on



109.


110.

A photo posted by Jed Cabreira (@echodex) on



111.

A photo posted by @arashfewzee on



112.

A photo posted by @jjfadbk on



113.

DK & #paulpfeiffer 's video piece #fragmentofacrucifixion #newwhitney

A photo posted by Accidental Photographer (@frankkie) on



114.


115.

A photo posted by Carlos Jorge (@carlosjorge) on



116.

A photo posted by Morgan Moore (@morgan.a.moore) on



117.

· Overwrought Shell Conceals Porous, Visitor-Friendly Design in Renzo Piano's New Whitney Museum [Curbed National]
· The Ultimate Tour of the New Whitney Museum, Inside and Out [Curbed New York]