clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Aga Khan Architecture Award Shortlist Includes Projects by Zaha Hadid, Toshiko Mori, and BIG

They will compete for a $1 million prize

If there were ever any doubt that awards season was in full swing—earlier today we introduced to you the winners of RIBA's London Awards—this afternoon brings the announcement of the shortlist for the 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture.

According to the Aga Khan Development Network:

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is given every three years to projects that set new standards of excellence in architecture, planning practices, historic preservation and landscape architecture. Through its efforts, the Award seeks to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of societies across the world, in which Muslims have a significant presence.

The 19 projects in the running for the $1 million prize were selected from a pool of 348 nominations across 69 countries by a nine-member Master Jury comprising architects, academics, and editors. At this time, all 19 projects are undergoing extensive investigations by architects, conservation specialists, or structural engineers who will personally visit each site.

Click on the links below to learn more about the shortlisted projects, which include a floating school in Nigeria, an institute in Beirut by the late Zaha Hadid, an Senegalese artist residency by Toshiko Mori, a power station in Azerbaijan, and the longest pedestrian bridge in Iran.

New Power Station, Baku, Azerbaijan, Erginoğlu & Çalışlar Architects

Bait Ur Rouf Mosque, Dhaka, Bangladesh, Marina Tabassum

Friendship Centre, Gaibandha, Bangladesh, URBANA/Kashef Mahboob Chowdhury

Micro Yuan’er, Beijing, China, ZAO/standardarchitecture/Zhang Ke

The award is unique in that it highlights projects that display not only architectural achievement but also improve the quality of life for those who inhabit or work in the space. As for background information: The award was established in 1977 by its namesake, the Aga Khan, who is the founder and chairman of the Aga Khan Development Network, one of the world's largest private development network, and the 49th Imam of the Shia Imami Ismaili Muslims. A business magnate and philanthropist, the Aga Khan and his organization are committed to eliminating poverty and improving the lives of communities in sub-Saharan Africa, Central and South Asia, and the Middle East.

Superkilen, Copenhagen, Denmark, BIG (Bjarke Ingels Group)

Manouchehri House, Kashan, Iran, Akbar Helli, Shahnaz Nader

Tabiat Pedestrian Bridge, Tehran, Iran, Diba Tensile Architecture / Leila Araghian, Alireza Behzadi

40 Knots House, Tehran, Iran, Habibeh Madjdabadi, Alireza Mashhadi Mirza

Royal Academy for Nature Conservation, Ajloun, Jordan, Khammash Architects

Bunateka Libraries, Various Locations, Kosovo, Bujar Nrecaj Architects

Issam Fares Institute, Beirut, Lebanon, Zaha Hadid Architects

Guelmim School of Technology, Guelmim, Morocco, Saad El Kabbaj, Driss Kettani, Mohamed Amine Siana

Casa-Port New Railway Station, Casablanca, Morocco, AREP, Groupe 3 Architectes

Makoko Floating School, Lagos, Nigeria, NLÉ / Kunlé Adeyemi

Doha Tower, Doha, Qatar, Ateliers Jean Nouvel

King Fahad National Library, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, Gerber Architekten International

Thread: Artist Residency and Cultural Centre, Sinthian, Senegal, Toshiko Mori Architects

Nasrid Tower Restoration, Huercal-Overa, Spain, Castillo Miras Arquitectos

Ceuta Public Library, Ceuta, Spain, Paredes Pedrosa Arquitectos