clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

25 Instagrams to get you excited for the 2016 Rio Summer Olympics

Only two days away!

In anticipation of the Rio 2016 Summer Olympic Games—which kick off in just two days!—we’ve invited Paulo del Valle, a Carioca (Rio de Janiero native, that is) and Instagrammer extraordinaire, to take over Curbed’s account for the week. There, you’ll find fab shots of some of del Valle’s favorite spots around the city, from Rio’s stunning natural wonders to its classic architecture.

Below, check out a few of our favorite shots from the takeover, as well as a couple from del Valle’s personal account (which you should follow once the Games are in full swing). And, for good measure, we’ve also rounded up some of our favorite Instagrams from Brazilian natives—think models and interior designers—as well as good ole snaps from tourists, media folks, and world-class athletes.

Take a gander, and try not to get too jealous: While some 500,000 tourists are expected to descend on Rio over the next couple of weeks, for the rest of us, well, there’s always Instagram.

Me sinto abençoado de chamar essa cidade de lar. ❤ I feel blessed to call this city home. ❤ Rio de Janeiro, Brasil.

A photo posted by Paulo del Valle (@paulodelvalle) on

s on the Olympic Stadium for Sweden vs. South Africa! #Rio2016

A photo posted by NBC Olympics (@nbcolympics) on

Formiguinhas

A photo posted by Cecília Samel (@cica.samel) on

yep, i need one drone. #riomínimo

A photo posted by — z (@zefelipe) on

A photo posted by Simone Biles (@simonebiles) on

Our balcony view in the Olympic village

A photo posted by Rachael Adams (@rachaeladams) on

!

A photo posted by Derek Blasberg (@derekblasberg) on

Cidade abençoada, feliz por todas as minhas conquistas. Momento de agradecimento.

A photo posted by Adriana Lima (@adrianalima) on

@raira in paradise. Rio de Janeiro, Brasil.

A photo posted by Paulo del Valle (@paulodelvalle) on

A photo posted by Leslye Davis (@leslyedavis) on

Ahhhh... como eu amo estar de volta a esse pedaço de Paraíso ... Rio #riodejaneiro #errejota #cidademaravilhosa #Brasil

A photo posted by Alessandra Ambrosio (@alessandraambrosio) on

RIO - going to work ... Beautiful day

A photo posted by sigbergamind (@sigbergamin) on

Gorgeous! 18 days to Rio 2016 and today is 18 July! Make a wish!!! #olympics #rio2016

A photo posted by The Olympic Games (@olympics) on

✋ball can be found here. #RoadtoRio #Rio2016

A photo posted by NBC Olympics (@nbcolympics) on

Practice makes perfect. #Rio2016

A photo posted by NBC Olympics (@nbcolympics) on