clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile
From left: Winnie Au; Tony Luong; Debbie Carlos; Ball & Albanese

Filed under:

Groundbreakers 2017: Call for submissions

Submit your nominations for Curbed’s annual awards recognizing game changers in architecture

Welcome back to the third annual Curbed Groundbreakers competition, doling out awards that seek to recognize architects who are changing how the built world functions.

Our metrics? Literal groundbreaking—we want to hear about architects, architectural designers, partners, and studios who have a body of built work to gauge. Whether it’s a young designer building medical clinics in Haiti, a trio rethinking how a museum engages with its community, or an architect-evangelist using fresh methods to tackle the affordable housing crisis in New York City, we’re searching for people who challenge the status quo. And we need your help.

What we need from you: Fill out the form below, and tell us why your nominee is a Groundbreaker. Please include a portfolio (or individual links to projects) that showcases the architect's most innovative work.

There is no age limit for nominees, but they must be based in the United States. Once we amass our nominees, a jury of esteemed industry professionals will select the finalists, and we'll celebrate the winning class here on Curbed in mid-November.

Nominations are now closed for Groundbreakers 2017. A jury of esteemed industry professionals, including Darren Walker, Linda Taalman, and Philip Freelon, will now select the winners, and we'll celebrate them here on Curbed in mid-November. Stay tuned!


Curbed Groundbreakers 2018: Beginning a conversation on architecture and mentorship


For El Dorado architects, modern design starts with old-fashioned craft


Introducing: 2017 Curbed Groundbreakers

View all stories in Groundbreakers