clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Updated Frank Lloyd Wright Usonian asks $2.9M in Texas

New, 4 comments

One of only three Wright-designed homes in the Lone Star state

The entry to a flat-roofed, overhanging midcentury home. The covered entrance is lit up and there is a wet driveway and landscaping surrounding the home. Photos by Bill Krampitz of TK Images LLC

Another Frank Lloyd Wright house is on the market, this time in Houston, Texas. There are only three homes designed by Wright in Texas, and this six-bedroom, six-and-a-half property—called the William Thaxton house—is the only in Houston.

Originally constructed in 1955 as a modest 1,800-square-foot Usonian, the home was designed for a wealthy insurance executive. It now includes a renovation from 1995 designed by local architect Bob Inaba of Kirksey Architecture that added 6,300 square feet. The renovation used Wright’s L-shaped, single-story building as a centerpiece, adding an enclosed patio, central courtyard, and expanded family room.

The home still boasts many original features like redwood and mahogany woods, polished concrete floors, concrete blocks, and plate glass. A parallelogram-shaped pool was part of Wright’s initial design, and the kitchen in the older structure is still largely what the iconic architect envisioned.

Triangular fixtures are everywhere, including the couches, and Wright’s design blends with new amenities like a two-sided fireplace and an additional kitchen in the modern building. The home was first listed in 2010 for $3,500,000, and since then it’s been on and off the market with various price cuts.

Love the mix of old meets new? 12020 Tall Oaks Street is on the market now for $2,850,000.

The parallelogram-shaped pool and expansive windows were part of Wright’s original Usonian design.
The new, larger addition sits on the left, complimenting the older structure on the right.
Built in couches, polished concrete floors, and redwood ceilings are all Wright originals.
You won’t find many right angles in the home.
The original kitchen in the 1955 building.